Inicio > English, George Orwell, Traducciones - Translations - Übersetzungen - Traductions > Un chico para todo por cuatro cuartos //A little office boy at forty pounds a year

Un chico para todo por cuatro cuartos //A little office boy at forty pounds a year

“Such, such were the joys” is a small essay written by George Orwell

http://orwell.ru/library/essays/joys/english/e_joys

In the post titled Flip i translated into spanish an extract which first caught my attention. There are many in an essay in which the reader can find a series of sharp and bitter reflections on childhood and school, on the turmoil of feelings that separates the world of children from that of the adults, on the pain, fear, hatred and lack of undestanding that can rule there, where one didn´t  expect they could.

“Flip” and “Sambo” were the nicknames of the schoolmasters of Orwell´s primary school, St. Cyprian.

Below , the spanish translation of an extract as well as a transcription of the original in english.

“Such, such were the joys” es un pequeño ensayo de George Orwell

El lector puede encontrar en él toda una serie de agudas a la vez que amargas observaciones acerca de la infancia y la institución escolar, acerca del torbellino de sentimientos que separa el mundo de los niños del de los adultos, acerca del dolor, el miedo y la incomprensión que pueden llegar a reinar allí donde uno menos se los espera.

“Flip” era el mote de la directora, “Sambo” el del director.

Un chico para todo por cuatro cuartos

Muy pronto me dejaron claro que no tendría un futuro decente a menos que me sacara una beca para un colegio privado. O me la sacaba o a los catorce tendría que dejar el colegio para convertirme en lo que Sambo gustaba de llamar: “un chico para todo por cuatro cuartos”. Dadas mis circunstancias era natural que me creyera esto. En St Cyprian  se daba absolutamente por hecho que a menos que fueras a un buen colegio de pago ( y sólo quince colegios entraban en esta categoría) estabas condenado de por vida. No es fácil que un adulto pueda hacerse una idea de la presión, del nerviosismo que esto generaba en quienes teníamos que prepararnos para un combate tan decisivo a medida que la fecha del examen se acercaba- ¡Once años, doce y luego trece, el año fatal del desenlace! No creo que hubiera ni un solo día en dos años en que mis pensamientos no estuvieran ocupados con  “el examen”, como yo lo llamaba. “El examen” ocupaba desde luego mis oraciones. Si me tocaba el haba en el roscón de reyes o me encontraba una herradura en el suelo o de un soplo apagaba las velas en mi cumpleaños o conseguía atravesar una puerta estrecha sin rozar las jambas, el deseo que con esto se  veía cumplido se lo llevaba por derecho propio “el examen”. Y, sin embargo, extrañamente, no podía evitar que un deseo irresistible de holgazanear me atormentara.

Días había en que de sólo pensar en los deberes que tenía que hacer se me caía el alma quedándoseme cara de asno delante de las tareas más sencillas. Y lo mismo me pasaba en vacaciones. Algunos de los chicos que se preparaban para la beca recibíamos clases extra de un tal Mr. Knowles, un hombre agradable, peludo, desgreñado, que vivía en la ciudad en un cubil típico de un solterón, con las paredes llenas de libros y en el que apestaba a tabaco. Mr. Knowles solía mandarnos extractos de latín para que los tradujéramos durante las vacaciones teniéndoselos que enviar una vez a la semana para que los corrigiera. De alguna manera me veía incapaz. El papel en blanco y el diccionario negro de latín sobre la mesa, la conciencia de estar escaqueándome de una tarea simple me perseguían en mis ratos libres pero de alguna forma no podía ponerme a ello y al final de las vacaciones acababa por enviarle sólo cincuenta o cien líneas. Sin duda que parte había que atribuirlo a que Sambo y  la vara con la que nos zurraba andaban bastante lejos. Pero es que también durante el curso escolar se apoderaban de mí unas rachas de desgana y estupidez que me hundían en la miseria y cuya expresión  a veces incluso tomaba la forma de  una especie de quejosa y lánguida rebeldía, plenamente consciente de mi culpa como era y sin poder o querer- nunca lo tuve claro- hacer nada. Era entonces cuando Sambo y Flip me hacían llamar y en esas ocasiones ni siquiera se trataba de azotes.

Flip me dirigía su torva mirada ( ¿De qué color eran aquellos ojos?, me pregunto. Los recuerdo verdes, pero no hay nadie que tenga los ojos verdes. A lo mejor eran de color avellana.) Comenzaba con su  tono meloso e intimidatorio característico y después de dejarle a uno sin guardia se anotaba un tanto a costa de lo mejor de uno mismo.

“ ¿No pienso que esté precisamente bien comportarte como lo haces, no crees? ¿No creo que sea eso lo que tus padres esperan de ti, holgazanear semana tras semana y mes tras mes? ¿Es que quieres echar a perder esta oportunidad? Sabes que tus padres no son ricos. Lo sabes. Sabes que no pueden permitirse las mismas cosas que otros padres. ¿Cómo van a mandarte a un colegio privado si no te sacas la beca? Sé lo orgullosa que tu madre está de ti. ¿Es que le quieres decepcionar?

“No creo que quiera ir a un colegio privado” decía Sambo dirigiéndose a Flip haciendo como si yo no estuviese. “Creo que ha desechado la idea. Quiere convertirse en un chico para todo por cuatro cuartos.”

Una terrible sensación de llanto- el pecho aspirando aire, un cosquilleo en las aletas de la nariz- se había apoderado a estas alturas ya de mí. Flip sacaba entonces su as bajo la manga.

“ ¿Y piensas que con tu comportamiento estás siendo justo con nosotros? ¿Después de todo lo que hemos hecho por ti?” Sus ojos me atravesaban hasta lo más hondo y aunque nunca lo decía abiertamente, sí que sabía lo que habían hecho por mí: “Te hemos tenido aquí todos estos años- te tuvimos aquí incluso en vacaciones para que Mr. Knowles te ayudara. Sabes que no queremos echarte pero no podemos tener aquí a un chico sólo para alimentarle curso tras curso. No creo que sea la tuya una forma muy honesta de comportarte ¿No?

Nunca me salía otra respuesta que no fuera un miserable “No, Señora” o “Sí, señora” , según el caso. Era evidente que no era honesta la forma en que me estaba comportando. Y siempre, en un momento u otro, de alguna parte de mis ojos acababa saliendo una lágrima reticente que me bajaba por la nariz y caía al suelo……

Para captar el efecto que este tipo de cosas tienen en un niño de diez o doce años hay que tener presente que los niños no tienen mucho sentido de la proporción ni de la probabilidad. Un niño puede ser un prodigio de egoísmo o de desobediencia pero carece de la experiencia suficiente para confiar en su propio juicio. Aceptará en general lo que se le cuente y creerá del modo más fantástico en la sabiduría y el poder de los adultos que le rodean……

Odiaba a Sambo y Flip con una especie de odio vergonzante y compungido pero no se me ocurría dudar de su juicio. Cuando me aseguraban que si no me sacaba la beca para un colegio privado iba a acabar convirtiéndome en chico para todo a los catorce, creía que esas eran en efecto las dos alternativas que tenía. Y por encima de todo les creía cuando me decían que lo hacían por mi bien. Soy consciente ahora, naturalmente, de que para Sambo yo representaba una buena inversión. Invertía dinero en mí y esperaba recuperarlo en la forma de prestigio. Si me hubiera echado a perder, como a veces les pasa a los chicos que prometen, imagino que se hubiera desecho de mí rápidamente. Ocurrió que cuando llegó la hora le saqué las dos becas y seguro que hizo buen uso de ellas en los folletos del colegio. Pero a un niño le resulta difícil  concebir que un colegio sea ante todo una empresa. Un niño piensa que los colegios existen para educar y que los directores le disciplinan a uno por su propio bien o por un deseo de abusar. Flip y Sambo querían ser mis amigos y su amistad traía consigo zurras, reproches y humillaciones, que eran buenos para mí y que me salvaron de convertirme en un chico para todo. Esta era su versión y yo creía en ella. Estaba claro por lo tanto que yo no les debía sino una gratitud inmensa y, sin embargo, como bien sabía, no me estaba mostrando agradecido. Al contrario, les odiaba. No podía controlar mis  sentimientos, ni tampoco ocultármelos. ¿Y acaso no es del género malvado odiar a quienes buscan tu bien? Así me lo enseñaron y así lo creía. El niño acepta los códigos de conducta que se le presentan incluso cuando los transgrede. Desde los ocho o puede que desde más temprano la conciencia del pecado nunca me fue ajena.Si me las ingeniaba para parecer duro y respondón, esto no era más que una delgada capa encima de un montón de vergüenza y desaliento. A lo largo de toda mi niñez me acompañó el convencimiento de que no valía nada, de que estaba perdiendo el tiempo, echando a perder mis talentos, comportándome como un insensato, malvado e ingrato- y de todo esto parecía que no había modo de escapar porque vivía bajo leyes que, como las de la gravedad, eran absolutas y que, sin embargo, me era imposible respetar.

A little office boy at forty pounds a year

Very early it was impressed upon me that i had no chance of a decent future unless i won a scholarship at a public school. Either i won my scholarship , or i must leave school at fourteen and become, in Sambo´s favourite phrase “ a little boy at forty pounds a year”. In my circumstances it was natural that i should believe this. Indeed, it was universally taken for granted at St. Cyprian´s that unless you went to a “good” public school (and only about fifteen schools came under this heading) you were ruined for life. Is is not easy to convey to a grown-up person the sense of strain, of nerving one self for some terrible, all-deciding combat, as the day of the examination crept nearer-eleven years old, twelve years old, then thirteen, the fatal year itself! Over a period of about two years, i do not think there was a day when “the exam”, as i called it, was quite out of my waking thoughts. In my prayers if figured invariably: and whenever i got the bigger portion of a wishbone, or picked up a horse-shoe, or bowed seven times to the new moon, or succeded in passing through a wishing-gate without touching the sides, then the wish i earned doing so went on “the exam” as a matter of course. And yet curiously enough i was also tormented by an almost irresistible impulse not to work.

There were days when my heart sickened at the labours ahead of me, and i stood stupid as an animal before the most elementary difficulties. In the holidays, also, i could not work. Some of the scholarship boys received extra tuition from a certain Mr. Knowles,a likable, very hairy man who wore shaggy suits and lived in a typical bachelor´s “den”-booklined walls, overwhelming stench of tobacco-somewhere in the town. During the holidays Mr. Knowles used to send us extracts from Latin authors to translate, and we were supposed to send back a wad of work once a week. Somehow i could not do it. The empty paper and the black Latin dictionary lying on the table, the consciousness of a plain duty shirked, poisoned my leisure, but somehow i could not start, and by the end of the holidays i would only have sent Mr. Knowles fifty or a hundred lines. Undoubtedly part of the reason was that Sambo and his cane were far away. But in term-time, also, i would go through periods of idleness and stupidity when i would sink deeper and deeper into disgrace and even achieve a sort of feeble, snivelling defiance, fully conscious of my guilt and yet unable or unwilling-i could not be sure which-to do any better. Then Sambo or Flip would send for me , and this time it would not even be a caning.

Flip would search me with her baleful eyes. (What colour were those eyes, i wonder? I remember them as green, buy actually no human being has green eyes. Perhaps they were hazel.) She would start off in her peculiar, wheedling, bullying style, which never failed to get right through one´s guard and score a hit on one´s better nature.

“I don´t think it´s awfully decent for you to behave like this, is it? Do you think it´s quite playing the game by your mother and father to go on idling your time away, week after week, month after month? Do you want to throw all your chances away? You know your people aren´t rich, don´t you? You know they can´t afford the same things as other boy´s parents. How are they to send you to a public school if you don´t win a scholarship? I know how proud your mother is of you. Do you want to let her down?”

“ I don´t think he wants to go to a public school any longer,” Sambo would say, addressing himself to Flip with a pretence that i was not there. “I think he´s given up that idea. He wants to be a little office boy at forty pounds a year.”

The horrible sensation of tears-a swelling in the breast, a tickling behind the nose-would already have assailed me. Flip would bring out her ace of trumps:

“And do you think it is quite fair to us, the way you´re behaving? After all we´ve  done for you? You do know what we´ve done for you, don´t you?” Her eyes would pierce deep into me, and though she never said it straight out, i did know “ We´ve had you here all these years- we even had you here for a week in the holidays so that Mr. Knowles could coach you. We don´t want to have to send you away, you know, but we can´t keep a boy here just to eat up our food, term after term. I don´t think it´s very straight, the way you´re behaving. Do you?”

I never had any answer except a miserable “No, Mum”, or “Yes, Mum”, as the case might be. Evidently it was not straight, the way i was behaving. And at some point or other the unwanted tear would always force its way out of the corner of my eye, roll down my nose, and splash…….

To grasp the effect of this kind of thing on a child of ten or twelve, one has to remember that the child has little sense of proportion or probability. A child may be a mass of egoism and rebelliousness, but it has no accumulated experience to give it confidence in its own judgements. On the whole it will accept what it is told, and it will believe in the most fantastic way in the knowledge and powers of the adults surrounding it……

I hated Sambo and Flip, with a sort of shamefaced, remorseful hatred, but it did not occur to me to doubt their judgement. When they told me that i must either win a public-school scholarship or become an office boy at fourteen. I believed that those were the unavoidable alternatives before me. And above all, i believed Sambo and Flip when they told me they were my benefactors. I see now, of course, that from Sambo´s point of view i was a good speculation. He sank money in me, and he looked to get it back in the form of prestige. If i had “gone off”, as promising boys sometimes do, i imagine that he would have got rid of me swiftly. As it was i won him two scholarships when the time came, and no doubt he made full use of them in his prospectuses. But it is difficult for a child to realise that a school is primarily a commercial venture. A child believes that the school exists to educate and that the schoolmaster disciplines him either for his own good, or from a love of bullying. Flip and Sambo had chosen to befriend me, and their frienship included canings, reproaches and humiliations, which were good for me and saved me from an office stool. That was their version, and i believed in it. It was therefore clear that i owed them a vast debt of gratitude. But i was not grateful, as i very well knew. On the contrary, i hated both of them. I could not control my subjective feelings, and i could not conceal them from myself. But it is wicked, is it not, to hate your benefactors? So i was taught, and so i believed. A child accepts the codes of behaviour that are presented to it, even when it breaks them. From the age of eight, or even earlier, the consciousness of sin was never away from me. If i contrived to seem callous and defiant, it was only a thin cover over a mass of shame and dismay. All through my boyhood i had a profound conviction that i was no good, that i was wasting my time, wrecking my talents, behaving with monstrous folly and wickedness and ingratitude-and all this, it seemed, was inescapable, because i lived among laws which were absolute, like the law of gravity, but which it was not possible for me to keep.

 

 

  1. Aún no hay comentarios.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Responder

